James Bible Study- week 6

“Therefore confess your sins to each and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” James 5:16

James is right-Prayer works! I know that it is prayer that has been the most effective tool in my personal life and my family’s. I have seen God change me and my circumstances, that once looked impossible, through prayer. Another thing that has power is: the power to be prayed for. I don’t know if you are like me, but sometimes I am hesitant to share prayer requests. I feel like such a burden, I don’t want to bother, but God is showing me that:

1) There is GREATER power when others pray for you. In fact, recently, I was praying over something and just couldn’t get peace. As soon as I asked two of my closest friends to pray for me, I felt the peace that very day! There is great power in being prayed for!

2) It is selfish not to share. God is showing me that when I don’t share my prayer requests I am withholding the potential blessing for the person praying for me. I asked myself recently, “Don’t I love praying for others and MY faith is built when I see them answered?” Why don’t we want to share then? Also, we can fall into pride thinking, “We can do it ourselves.” This can be dangerous.

3) It gives God the glory. By allowing others in our prayer lives to witness our miracles, breakthroughs, and answered prayers, God is getting more glory! Let’s not rob Him of that.

Now I know there are some things that are personal, and we shouldn’t share everything with just anyone- please don’t misunderstand. BUT maybe you haven’t seen your breakthrough because you don’t have people praying for you.

James has been challenging, I know. I understand, sister! But we have to be willing to address our fears in order to grow. Satan wants to isolate each of us so we stay powerless. Bringing it to light takes the power from the darkness. Having people pray for us brings greater power! We would be wise to listen to James in this: “Therefore confess your sins to each and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” James 5:16

Leave a comment